MM : Scissor Trails + Screwdriver Puddles

Let me tell you a bit about my family:Scissor Trails is my 10.5 yo girl and Screwdriver Puddles is my 8.5 yo boy. I don’t call them by these names usually.

Scissor Trails (T) is not a “tidy kiwi” and leaves evidence of her Being all around the house – clothes, books, papers, tissues. This is not helped by regular cutting, trimming, cardmaking, and lapbooking – all over the house. One down-side of being a one house schoolroom!

Screwdriver Puddles (P) loves making electrical circuits with Brainbox (3 sets of it) plus the DSE electrical experiment kit from last Christmas. He pulls old gadgets apart. Screws, wires etc accumulate in a circle around where he happened to sit at the time of the latest ‘experience’ (his 4yo word for experiment). Must also mention his love for playing with water too.

Now, the following doesn’t really have anything to do with the above!

A few days ago I was chatting with (P) about names for babies.
“What names did you want for me?”
“I wanted to call you Aiden.
“How come I’m not called Aiden?”
“Cos your Dad didn’t want the name for you.”
Pause.
“I think you can call me Aiden.”

In a slow part of the Sunday church service the next day he started writing his name. I wrote Aiden in brackets. He beamed a smile at me, then continued to write his full name with Aiden put in as the second name.

What’s in a name? More than we think.

